Home News Local News 2017 Eastern New Mexico State Fair Flower Show results

2017 Eastern New Mexico State Fair Flower Show results

Vicki Hobson who won Best of Show with an Elephant Ear leaf. (Submitted Photo)

Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

The 2017 Fair Flower Show, sponsored by the Eastern New Mexico State Fair, Home Garden Club and Morning Garden Club of Roswell received a total of 244 Horticultural entries.

Division 1, Horticulture:  The Best of Show Award in the Horticulture Division was won by Vicki Hobson – Elephant Ear.  The Sweepstakes Award, Horticulture, for the most blue ribbons, was won by Renate Reisel (30 blue ribbons). Runner-Up Sweepstakes was Theresa Coll (16 blue ribbons).

Section winners were:

Section 1 – Bulbs, Corms and Tubers: Vicki Hobson – Elephant Ear (Best of Show)

Section 2 – Annuals: Peggy Voigt – Yellow Lantana

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

Section 3 – Perennials: Peggy Voigt – False Dragonhead

Section 4 – Roses: Gloria Mendiola – The Shepherdess

Section 5 – Chrysanthemums: Renate Reisel – White spray Chrysanthemum

Section 6 – Vines, Shrubs and Trees: Julie Edgett – Hibiscus “Tradewinds Sunny Wind”

Section 7 – Container Grown Plants: Sue Ferguson – Dish Garden

Section 8 – Seeds, Pods, Foliage, Succulents: Jan Smith – Coleus

Section 9 – Collections: Fred Walters – Sunflower, Marigold, Italian Basil, Celosia plume

First-place ribbons were awarded to the following exhibitors: Jami Bernacchi, Theresa Coll, Julie Edgett, Duane Evans, Sue Ferguson, Yvonne Graves, Allene Hardcastle, Nancy Hartwick, Taresa Hellums, Karen Henderson, Mickey Henderson, Judy Hobson, Vicki Hobson, Amy McNeil, Gloria Mendiola, Isabel Olsen, Betty Pareo, Luther Pareo, David Randle, Melissa Randle, Renate Reisel, Jan Smith, Pegi Smith, Peggy Voigt, Fred Walters.

Division 2, Youth:  The Best of Show Award in the Youth Horticulture Division was won by Kaleigh Hembree – Tomatillo.

First-place ribbons were won by Kaleigh Hembree (9), Mireya Serrano (6), Mayla Serrano (2), Luke Pierce (1).

Division 3, Educational:

Special Awards Youth Education: Mason Deen – Ladybugs

Kaleigh Hembree – Composting

Many colorful floral arrangements made by Midway Learning Center preschoolers were on display.

Previous articleAlien autopsy film confession reignites debate
Next articleLook both ways before crossing