Home News Local News Artesia to get new mayor and write-in wins District 2

Artesia to get new mayor and write-in wins District 2


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

ARTESIA — Artesia has a new mayor and a new councilor in District 2. The incumbents won re-election to another term on the Artesia City Council.


City Clerk Aubrey Hobson said the results are unofficial and will be canvassed Friday.

Raye Miller is the new mayor. He was unopposed and replaces Phil Burch who decided not to seek another term. Miller had 707 votes.

In District 2, write-in candidate George Mullen pulled off the upset against Artesia High School boys head basketball coach Michael Mondragon. Mullen had 119 votes and Mondragon had 82. Mondragon had a slight lead after the votes were tabulated from Faith Baptist Church and the Artesia Senior Center. The early and absentee votes pushed Mullen over the top as he had 61 and Mondragon had 11.

Mullen will replace Nora Sanchez who was appointed a couple of years ago to finish out the term of Jose Luis Aguliar. He passed away while in office.

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

In District 3, Allen Kent Bratcher defeated Tommy Bailes 208-58.

District 4 was a crowded race as incumbent Terry Hill faced challenges from Kevin Baggerly and Kenneth Hart. Hill had 98 votes while Baggerly had 41 and Hart had 34.

“I appreciate the support,” Hill said. He’s also served as Mayor Pro Tem for a number of years.

“I’ve been kind of limited to get out and campaign, I had a good corps of supporters and did some knocking (on doors) and handing out fliers and signs,” he said.

Hill said he’s looking forward to another four years on the council and he added he’s looking forward to working with Raye Miller.

“I’m excited about Mr. Mullen coming on board and see what he can add to this thing,” Hill said.

In District 1, Raul Rodriguez won another term defeating Delia Cortez-Collier 153-44.

General assignment reporter Mike Smith can be reached at 575-622-7710, ext. 307, or at sports2@rdrnews.com.