Home News Local News Roswell Rotary announces 2018 scholarship recipients

Roswell Rotary announces 2018 scholarship recipients

The Roswell Rotary Club presented thirty $1,000 scholarships to graduating seniors in Chaves County. (Timothy P. Howsare Photo)

Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Roswell Rotary Club announced the 2018 scholarship recipients on May 24 during its regular lunch meeting at the Hi-Q Venue. The Roswell Rotary Club first awarded scholarships in 1938 and continues the tradition today. In 2018, thirty $1,000 scholarships were awarded to Chaves County students in pursuit of higher education. Students eligible for Roswell Rotary Scholarships are from private and public Chaves County schools.

Scholarship Committee Chairwoman Olivia Mitchell said, “In our club’s history, we have set the record for the most scholarships and most dollars awarded to outstanding young men and women seeking higher education.”

Roswell Rotary Club President Betty Young said, “I thank Roswell Rotary for their enthusiastic and generous support for a record number of scholarships given back to our community students representing public, private and homeschool education.”

Roswell Rotarians Chris Lauderman and Chad Cole awarded the scholarships.

Rotary Club President-ElectJason Perry said, “Next year the club is challenged to exceed this year’s record.”

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

The scholarship recipients are: Amber Aguilar, Goddard, NMSU, nursing; John Anaya, Goddard, NMSU, criminology; Marlou Blankvoort, Deter, ENMU-R, biology; Savanna Fox, Gateway, ENMU-R, radiology; Allie French, Goddard, NMSU-Dona Anacc, radiology; Marc Gross, Goddard, New Mexico Tech, physics; Tristan Herring, Goddard, UNM, film; Anderson “July” Jones, Goddard, Texas Tech University, mechanical engineering; Luis Lara, Roswell, ENMU-R, basics; Darren Marcelino, Goddard, UNM, nursing; Elaina Mathews, Goddard, Texas Tech University, animal Science; Logan Mathison, Goddard, New Mexico Tech, electrical engineering; Hannah Olvera, Goddard, Texas Tech University, nutrition; Maria Pando, Lake Arthur, NMSU, nursing; Jacob Sanders, Dexter, Grand Canyon University, robotic engineering; Trevor Sanders, Gustavus Adolphus College, Gustavus Adolphus College, exercise psychology; Raquel Trevizo, Dexter, ENMU-R, biology (pre-med); Vianey Villalobos, Dexter, ENMU-R, nursing; Camarynn Villalpando, Goddard, UCLA, biology; Eden Wiggins, Goddard, NMSU, art studio; Victor Bolanos, Roswell, NMMI, wildlife management/criminal justice; Marisol Gonzales, Lake Arthur, UNM, radiology; Jaime Grijalva, NMSU-LC, NMSU-LC, turf and turf grass management; Laura Laidley, Roswell, Texas Christian University, medicine; Britney Mapp, Goddard, Texas Tech University, biology (pre-med); Neyda Orduno, Goddard, ENMU-R/UNM, biology; Brianna Salvarrey, Goddard, NMSU or ENMU-R, nursing; Wyatt Seely, Goddard, NMSU, criminal justice; Ashley Andrews, NMMI, New Mexico Tech, veterinarian; Dahn Nguyen, NMMI, UNM, business/computer science.

Previous articleDrowning victim found at Bottomless Lakes 
Next articleOptimists given cemetery history