Home Sports Local Sports Roswell’s Wilcox Inducted into Arizona Motorsports Hall of Fame

Roswell’s Wilcox Inducted into Arizona Motorsports Hall of Fame


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Roswell native and sprint car racer, Marty Wilcox of Phoenix, Arizona, has been selected for induction into the Arizona Motorsport Hall of Fame.

Larry Wilcox is in the Arizona Motorsports Hall of Fame. (Darren Ward Photo)

Wilcox began his racing career in Roswell when he was 12 years old, competing in International Karting Foundation (IKF) go-kart races. From go-karts, Wilcox advanced to flat track motorcycle racing, then to stock car racing, and eventually spending 25 years racing winged sprint cars throughout the southwest, mid-west, and California. His bright orange #3 sprint car became a familiar sight to racing fans.

Wilcox’s numerous sprint car racing accomplishments include four Sprint Car Owners of Arizona championships, a two-time recipient of SCOA’s “Mechanic of the Year” award and capturing over 100 feature event wins before his retirement from active racing.

“I’ve never really given up racing,” Wilcox stated. “It’s just that now, I build a few sprint car engines and try to encourage the next generation.”

Regarding his selection to the Arizona Hall of Fame, Wilcox said, “It’s a great honor.”

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

Along with Wilcox, the 2018 Arizona Motorsports Hall of Fame inductees include Eric Wilkins, Dennis Matousek, Jim Rogers, and Terry Belcher. All five of these noted Arizona racers will be honored at an induction ceremony later this year in Phoenix, Arizona.

Previous articleNMMI goes through passing drills
Next articleTyler Hardwick gets ready for Connie Mack