Home News Local News ENMSF Flower Show results announced

ENMSF Flower Show results announced


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

The 2018 Fair Flower Show, sponsored by the Eastern New Mexico State Fair, Home Garden Club and Morning Garden Club of Roswell, received a total of 305 entries.

The Best of Show Award in the Horticulture Division was won by Vicki Hobson for Aloe Collection. The Sweepstakes Award for the most blue ribbons was won by Gloria Mendiola, with 17 blue ribbons. The Runner-Up Sweepstakes winner was Renate Reisel, with 16 blue ribbons.

Section winners were:

• Bulbs, Corms and Tubers: Peggy Voigt-Dahlia “Magic Touch”

• Annuals: Blanche Stephens-Lantana

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

• Perennials: Gloria Mendiola-Light Purple Clematis

• Roses: Theresa Coll-Peach Spray Rose

• Chrysanthemums: Theresa Coll-Garden Mum

• Vines, Shrubs and Trees: Gloria Mendiola-Fig

• Container Grown Plants: Vicki Hobson-Aloe Collection, Best of Show

• Seeds, Pods, Foliage, Succulents: Vicki Hobson-Afghan Pine

• Collections: Jerry Hobson-Coleus Collection

First-place ribbons were awarded to the following exhibitors: David Blount, Kenneth Blount, Theresa Coll, Yolanda Edgett, Tracie Edwards, Duane Evans, Julie Foster, Nancy Hartwick, Jerry Hobson, Vicki Hobson, Nancy Jones, Pat Krakauskas, Sharon Lombardi, Gloria Mendiola, Pete Mendiola, Isabel Olsen, Betty Pareo, Luther Pareo, Renate Reisel, Teresa Rivera, Jan Smith, Pegi Smith, Blanche Stephens, Peggy Voigt, Fred Walters, LaNelle Witt and Luzvilla White.

Special Award ribbons were presented to: Pegi Smith-Pyrcantha, Vicki Hobson-Elephant Ear, Pegi Smith-Oncidium Orchid, Vicki Hobson-Collection, and Isabel Olsen-Shasta Daisy.

The Best of Show Award in the Youth Horticulture Division was won by Natalie Edwards-Airplane Plant.

First Place ribbons were won by Kaleigh Hembree-Sweepstakes Award (14 ribbons); Mireya Serrano (13); Reagan Deen (1); Natalie Edwards (1).

Special Award ribbons were presented to Reagan Deen-Combination Planting, Mireja Serrano (3) – Spectacled Coleus, Burgundy Coleus, and Coleus.

In Division 3, Educational, Special Awards went to:

• Natalie Edwards-How I Take Care of My Garden Marie Ferreira – New Mexico Birds

• Julie Foster-Facts and Life Cycles of Cicadas

• Midway Learning Center-Iris Design Workshop

Kaleigh Hembree received a Special Award for Patriotic Lighted Flower Design.

Many colorful floral arrangements made by Midway Learning Center preschoolers were also on display.

Previous articleCharacter Counts! awards 53 students
Next articleRMAC welcomes new curator of exhibits