Home News Local News Roswell’s Stubbs on Lujan Grisham transition team

Roswell’s Stubbs on Lujan Grisham transition team


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Albuquerque — Governor-elect Michelle Lujan Grisham last week announced the co-chairs of committees responsible for reviewing state departments as part of the gubernatorial transition. The agency transition team is made up of seven different committees, each examining areas of state government.

Roswell City Councilor Judy Stubbs is co-chairing the General Services Committee, along with the New Mexico Department of Transportation’s Jenifer Block. The General Services Committee will work with the Department of Finance and Administration, the Department of Information Technology, the General Services Department, the Regulation & Licensing Department, along with the Taxation and Revenue Department and the new Administrative Hearings Office.

Stubbs, a city councilor for 21 (non-consecutive) years, has served two terms as president of the New Mexico Municipal League in addition to serving as the league’s treasurer, vice president, president-elect and immediate past president. She’s also been a regional representative with the New Mexico Economic Development Department.

All committee chairs will engage with current government agency personnel and provide strategic recommendations for Lujan Grisham. Outgoing Gov. Susana Martinez has pledged her administration’s cooperation to ensure a smooth transition, according to transition team officials.

“We can build a state government that will create pathways to success for all New Mexico children and families by growing our economy, fixing our broken public education system, improving access to healthcare, and making our communities safer,” said Lujan Grisham. I look forward to working with this bipartisan, diverse group of leaders from across New Mexico to set our state on a new direction and leverage every opportunity we have in front of us.”

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

Lt. Governor-elect Howie Morales added, “I am proud of this culturally, economically, and geographically diverse set of teams that will work on behalf of all New Mexicans on the transition. Governor-elect Lujan Grisham and I are focused on a smooth transition to set a tone of collaboration in order to hit the ground running in January …”

Other committees include Economic Growth, Education, Health and Human Services, Labor, Natural Resources and Public Safety.

For more information on the transition team, visit www.govelectlujangrisham.com.