Home News Local News This ebook selection is ‘impossible to put down’

This ebook selection is ‘impossible to put down’


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

The Roswell Public Library is taking part in a nationwide digital reading program, the Libraries Transform Book Pick, which offers patrons access to the same ebook for a two-week period. The first ebook selection is the newly released title “After the Flood” by Kassandra Montag, which will be available starting Oct. 7-21. Readers will only need a library card and the Libby app to download a free copy of the ebook to their device. It will also be available through https://roswellnm.overdrive.com/ to read on a computer. There will be no waitlists or holds for the title.

“After the Flood” is an inventive and riveting climate fiction saga from a promising new author. In a starred review, Booklist states, “Montag’s thrilling debut takes place in a future climate-change-altered world overrun by water … Anchored by a complicated, compelling heroine, this gripping, speculative, high-seas adventure is impossible to put down.”

The Libraries Transform Book Pick is a collaboration between the American Library Association (ALA) and Rakuten OverDrive. The program gives public libraries and their staff the opportunity to bring readers in their community together to discover a new ebook and celebrate the very best in reading.

The selection of “After the Flood” for the Libraries Transform Book Pick was made in consultation with experts at Booklist, the book review magazine of the ALA.

To learn more about the Libraries Transform Book Pick, please visit ilovelibraries.org/libraries-transform-book-pick. You can also follow the Libraries Transform Book Pick on ALA’s Facebook and Twitter and join the discussion on social media using the hashtag #LTBookPick.

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

For more information, you can call 575-622-7101, visit 301 N. Pennsylvania and like us on Facebook.

Book Talk by Trish Koenig, Youth Services Supervisor

In “The Lost Legacy (The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1)” by Gwenda Bond, Stephen’s dad decides to move them to New York City after his grandmother’s death to take over for her as the head chef at the Hotel New Harmonia. Nana’s letters were always filled with amazing stories of remarkable clientele, but when he arrives, he learns they’re more interesting than he imagined; they’re actually magical creatures (or supernormals)! Stephen also discovers he is actually part supernormal from his mother, who is apparently a missing Fae princess.

When Stephen is accused of stealing Chef Nana’s magic cookbook he teams up with some new friends (Sophia the warrior, Ivan the detective, a Bigfoot, a Dragon, and a talking elevator), who take it upon themselves to pursue their own leads to save his family and the hotel from certain doom.

Another first in a paranormal series for Middle Grade readers is “Ghost in the H.A.T.B.O.X. (Hatter Madigan #1)” by Frank Beddor. Since the death of his parents, Hatter Madigan has spent his entire life at the Millinery, but he is now entering as a student, where he and his fellow Caps compete to become the next generation of spies, assassins, and bodyguards.

Hatter is trying to pave a path of his own in Wonderland training to protect the royal Heart family and has his heart set on being a Spade, one of the Millinery’s class of spies. When he is instead designated a Heart, he feels slighted and to make matters worse, strange things are happening in the H.A.T.B.O.X., a new training building contrived with the uncertain new field of science.

He begins seeing ghosts in the hallways at the academy, then students begin acting very strangely, and it all comes down to Hatter and his new friends to solve the mysteries surrounding the school before all the students are possessed.

Previous articleJess J. (JJ) Jenkins
Next articleLocal graduate receives Sparklight scholarship