Home News Local News 2019 ENMSF flower show results released

2019 ENMSF flower show results released


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

The 2019 Fair Flower Show, sponsored by the Eastern New Mexico State Fair, Home Garden Club, and Morning Garden Club of Roswell, received a total of 247 entries.

Division 1, Horticulture

The Best of Show Award in the Horticulture Division was won by Jan Smith for Stapelia gigantea.

The Sweepstakes Award, Horticulture, for the most blue ribbons, was won by Renate Reisel, who had 28 blue ribbons. Runner-Up Sweepstakes winner was Isabel Olsen, with 21 blue ribbons.

Section winners were:

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

Section 1-Bulbs, Corms and Tubers: Luther Pareo, Yellow Crocus

Section 2-Annuals: Earl Jenkins, Sunflower

Section 3-Perennials: Isabel Olsen, Mexican Petunia

Section 4-Roses: Luz White, Mini Red Rose

Section 5-Chrysanthemums: Peggy Voigt, Yellow Mums

Section 6-Vines, Shrubs and Trees: Gloria Mendiola, Nerium oleander

Section 7-Container Grown Plants: Jan Smith, Stapelia gigantea, Best of Show

Section 8-Seeds, Pods, Foliage, Succulents: Pegi Smith, Arrowhead

The Division 1 Horticulture Best of Show winner. This award went to Jan Smith for her container-grown Stapelia gigantea (starfish flower). (Submitted Photo)

First-place ribbons were awarded to the following exhibitors: David Blount, Anna Chaney, Andrea Cruz, Tracie Edwards, Sue Ferguson, Julie Foster, Carolyn Galvan, Julie Graves-Edgett, Tatiana Gurrola, Vicki Hobson, Earl Jenkins, Gloria Mendiola, Isabel Olsen, Luther Pareo, Renate Reisel, Jan Smith, Pegi Smith, Peggy Voigt, Fred Walters, and LuzWhite.

Special Award ribbons were presented to Luther Pareo, Stewart Pecan; Isabel Olsen, Asclepias tuberosa; Peggy Voigt, Pink Rose; Gloria Mendiola, Cockscomb celosia; David Blount, Angel Wing Begonia; Jan Smith, Passiflora; Jan Smith, Cactus mammillaria; and Fred Walters, Amaranth Dragon’s Claw.

Division 2, Youth

The Best of Show Award in the Youth Horticulture Division was won by Natalie Edwards for Vinca.

First Place ribbons were awarded to Natalie Edwards, Carlton Edwards, Abel Ferreira, Marie Ferreira, Saria Ferreira, Janice Forrest, James Forrest, Jonathan Forrest, and Kaleigh Hembree.

Kaleigh Hembree was Youth Sweepstakes winner with seven blue ribbons, and Natalie Edwards was runner up with four blue ribbons.

Section Awards were presented to Natalie Edwards, Vinca; and Jonathan Forrest, Terrarium. Kaleigh Hembree won a Special Award for her Zinnia collection.

Division 3, Educational

Julie Foster, Division Winner, “National Garden Clubs-Roots Run Deep”

Division 3, Educational Youth

Kaleigh Hembree, Division Winner, “Save the Bees by Planting These!”

Preschoolers attending the Midway Learning Center also created colorful mini floral arrangements for display.

Previous articleLocal airman completes basic training
Next articleChoosing a bowl isn’t easy