Home News Local News Three people return to ENMU-R board

Three people return to ENMU-R board


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Facing no challengers, three existing members of the Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell Community College Board will return to the board for additional terms.

Ralph Fresquez (Submitted Photo)

Carleton “Cla” Avery, current vice president and District 5 member; Ralph Fresquez, District 4 member; and Mireya Trujillo, board president and District 1 member, all received many more than the one vote necessary for unopposed candidates to win their seats, according to unofficial results from the local elections in Chaves County, which had its Election Day Tuesday.

“ENMU-Roswell is pleased to be able to continue working with our current Community College Board members,” said Shawn Powell, president of ENMU-R. “These board members have been involved with our strategic planning, campus facility master planning and several longer range capital projects: the automotive and welding building renovation, maintenance building construction and electrical line replacement. As these infrastructure capital projects begin, the consistency of our campus’ vision for the future can be maintained due to the current board members’ continued involvement. Our campus greatly appreciates the dedication of all our Community College Board members in our mission to support and prepare students for success.”

Cla Avery (Submitted Photo)

Those who serve on the five-member ENMU-R board provide oversight of the finances, administrative actions, programs and policies at the local campus of the ENMU system, although the Eastern New Mexico University Board of Regents must give final approval on some issues.

The new four-year terms for Avery, Fresquez and Trujillo will begin Jan. 1. The seats now held by Patricia Parsons, representing District 2, and Eloise Blake, District 3, are not up for re-election until 2021.

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

Avery received 567 votes from a district that has 6,562 registered voters.

A retired public school teacher and former executive director of Character Counts! Of Chaves County, Avery began serving on the board in 2017 to complete a term vacated when Dawn Tschabrun moved to another city for work.

Fresquez won 354 votes from a district of 6,198 registered voters.

Mireya Trujillo (Submitted Photo)

Fresquez has served on the board about 10 years and also once worked as a Roswell city manager, deputy manager and municipal judge.

A Roswell Independent School District academic services administrator, Trujillo received 361 votes. There are 5,803 registered voters in District 1.

She was appointed to the board for her first term, but then was elected in 2011 and 2015.

“If we want to see any meaningful change come about in our community, then we need to take part in it, to be willing to help make a difference,” she said in August when asked about her decision to seek re-election.

The 2019 local election results are unofficial until the Chaves County Board of Commissioners, which serves as the Chaves County Canvassing Board, certifies them and they are then accepted by the New Mexico Secretary of State. The commissioners are scheduled to meet at 2 p.m. Nov. 12 at the Chaves County Administrative Center to canvas the election.

Senior Writer Lisa Dunlap can be reached at 575-622-7710, ext. 311, or at reporter02@rdrnews.com.

Previous articleState Police investigate officer-involved shooting
Next articleMunicipal, local elections see low turnout
Lisa Dunlap is a general assignment reporter for the Roswell Daily Record.