Home News Elections Election roundup: Voters reject proposed safety complex

Election roundup: Voters reject proposed safety complex


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Voters say ‘No’ to proposed public safety complex

The proposed $35 million bond issue to fund a new public safety complex was resoundingly defeated at the polls, according to unofficial election results. The final tally:

Yes: 1,080

No: 4,455

Controversy over the bond question had roiled Roswell for months.

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

The bonds would have funded a new facility housing the police department, a fire station, Roswell Fire Department administration, dispatch, an emergency operations center and municipal court — all under one roof.

Seskey wins race for Municipal Judge

Incumbent Joseph H. Seskey emerged from a three-candidate field to remain Roswell’s municipal judge, according to unofficial election results. He fended off challenges from Timothy H. Davidson and Gary Galassini. The voting breakdown:

Davidson: 1,839

Galassini: 1,092

Seskey: 2,259

Seskey is a retired police officer who has been the municipal judge since Aug. 9.

Oropesa fends off challenge in Ward 1

In City Council Ward 1, incumbent Juan P. Oropesa defeated challenger Cristina A. Arnold, 349 votes to 294, according to unofficial election results. Oropesa has been a city councilor since 2012.

Ward 2 voters choose Perry

Jason Perry will represent Ward 2 on the Roswell City Council, having garnered more votes than Edward L. Heldenbrand or Bonnie S. Bitzer, according to unofficial election results. The numbers:

Heldenbrand: 672

Perry: 929

Bitzer: 472

Perry, pastor of a church in Artesia, was a Ward 4 city councilor from 2009 to 2018, when a move to another ward required his resignation.

Ward 5 votes to keep Foster

In City Council Ward 5, incumbent Barry Foster defeated challenger Oswaldo Nava, 299 votes to 176, according to unofficial election results.

Foster is a second-grade teacher who has been on the City Council for eight years during two non-consecutive terms.

To keep up with coverage of this and other 2020 elections of local and regional interest, go to rdrnews.com/category/news/elections/.

Previous articleMurder suspect to be held without bond
Next articleDonal Bunce