Home Opinion Dear Editor Letter: Group of mayors express support for governor’s orders

Letter: Group of mayors express support for governor’s orders


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Dear governor: We write this letter to express our support for the actions you have taken to fight COVID-19 in the great State of New Mexico and to declare our commitment to staying the course you’ve charted until this deadly disease is fully defeated.

We write in full knowledge of the tremendous financial burden and social disruption caused by mandatory closings and social distancing orders and in equally full knowledge that these actions have saved lives by limiting the spread of the novel coronavirus.

Nothing has changed. The virus is still among us, and social distancing is still the only effective mechanism for slowing the contagion to avoid overwhelming our healthcare system. To change course now would be like throwing away our parachute midway to the ground. It would be as if a boxer dropped his fists and raised his chin in the middle of a round. It would dishonor the sacrifice New Mexicans have already made and put us back at square one. It would result in more lost lives.

As elected officials, we believe our most important duty is to protect the health and safety of our constituents — there is a deep and painful and temporary cost to our economy, yes, and we feel extremely confident we will rebuild it better than ever before when COVID-19 is defeated.

Throughout the history of our state, New Mexicans have stepped up to help each other during the most difficult of times, and we will continue to do so.

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

We trust in your leadership and the guidance you are receiving from the top medical experts in the state. We urge you to stay strong and to stay the course that is protecting New Mexicans. As you have said repeatedly: We are all in this together.

Signed: Mayor Tony Garcia, Town of Hagerman; Mayor Peter Nieto, Town of Mountainair; Mayor Alan Webber, City of Santa Fe; Mayor Daniel Barrone, City of Taos; Mayor Nora Barraza, Town of Mesilla; Mayor Jack Torres, Town of Bernalillo; Mayor Laudente Quintana II, Village of Wagon Mound; Mayor Ray Deans, Town of Carrizozo; Mayor Roger Sweet, Village of Jemez Springs; Mayor Ravi Bhasker, City of Socorro; Mayor Diana Murillo-Trujillo, City of Anthony; Mayor Jackie McKinney, City of Gallup; Mayor Ramon Garcia, Mayor of Vaughn; Mayor Robert Chavez, Village of Willard; Mayor Ted Benavidez, Village of Pecos; Mayor Nelson Kotiar, City of Santa Rosa; Mayor Richard Cordova, Village of Eagle Nest


Previous articleLetter: Far left is taking advantage of this crisis
Next articleLetter: Moves to stunt ‘hypervirulent killer’ not illegal