Home News Local News Five honored during Optimist Club awards program

Five honored during Optimist Club awards program


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Tracy Mumford receives Optimist of the Year

Tracy Mumford holds the Optimist of the Year Award, presented to him last week during the Sunrise Optimist Club’s Installation and Awards program. (Submitted Photo)

During the Sunrise Optimist Club’s Installation and Awards program held via Zoom last week, Tracy Mumford was presented with the top honor — Optimist of the Year Award — for his outstanding participation and dedication to the club’s projects and the youth of Roswell. Not only did he work on just about every project, he chaired the annual Sunrise Optimist Poe Corn Basketball Tournament, a monumental task. On behalf of the club, congratulations to Tracy, an honor well-deserved.

Pat Burnett, Officer of the Year. (Submitted Photo)

Also during the awards, Pat Burnett was presented with an Officer of the Year Award for the 2019-20 fiscal year of the Sunrise Optimist Club. Pat has been and is still the secretary of the club, which she does with a professional attitude. The club congratulates Pat for her dedicated service to the youth of Roswell, to the club and the Optimist ideals.

Gwen Burke, Officer of the Year.(Submitted Photo)

Another Officer of the Year Award went to treasurer Gwen Burke during the program. Gwen has been treasurer for several years now and does a great job. Not only is she dedicated to her job as treasurer, Gwen is also involved in many other projects and cares for the youth of Roswell as well. The Optimist Club congratulates Gwen for an award well-deserved.

Diedra Duvall, Rookie of the Year. (Submitted Photo)

The 2019-20 Sunrise Optimist Club Rookie of the Year Award goes to Diedra Duvall. Diedra jumped right in and started working on projects even before she was a member of the club. She probably participated in just about every project the club did this past year. Congratulations Diedra.

Roger K. Burnett, President’s Award. (Submitted Photo)

Outgoing President Mike Whitehead chose Roger K. Burnett to receive his President’s Award. The award is given to a club member who has shown outstanding service to the president during his term of office, as well as dedication to the club. The plaque reads, “President’s Award presented to Roger Burnett for his dedicated service to the president of the Sunrise Optimist Club, the youth of Roswell and the Optimist ideals.”

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

The Sunrise Optimist Club has also announced beginning for the new fiscal year in October, meetings will resume to twice a month and will be held via Zoom. The meetings will take place the first Wednesday and the third Tuesday of each month. If you want to know more about the Sunrise Optimist Club of Roswell, contact membership chairman Roger K. Burnett at 420-9420.

Previous articleAnn Reese Spencer
Next articleNew Mexico Activities Association postpones season