Home News Local News ENMU-R faculty receive teaching awards

ENMU-R faculty receive teaching awards


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Two instructors at Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell have been selected to receive 2021 Teaching Excellence Awards from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD).

James Buchanan (Submitted Photo)

Each year, instructors are asked to nominate one instructor to receive the award. From these nominations, the Faculty Evaluation Committee selects two faculty members for national recognition. This year, Kim LaDuca, Special Services instructor; and James Buchanan, director of science programs; have been selected.

NISOD is a membership organization committed to promoting and celebrating excellence in teaching, learning and leadership at community and technical colleges.

“I so appreciate being nominated and am proud to represent ENMU-R and the Special Services Department,” said LaDuca. “I count myself blessed to work with such an amazing group of individuals here at ENMU-R and have learned so much from my colleagues over the past several years. I am truly grateful for the opportunities I have been given. I love my job so much.”

Buchanan said he was honored to be chosen.

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

“After 26 years of being a faculty member, I continue to love what I do,” he said. “I enjoy seeing my students succeed, not only in their educational endeavors, but in life, too. It truly is an honor to work with such a dedicated group of faculty and students.”

Kim LaDuca (Submitted Photo)

La Duca, Buchanan and other Excellence Award recipients will be celebrated during NISOD’s virtual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, April 28-30.

The NISOD Excellence Awards were established in 1991 to provide NISOD-member colleges with an opportunity to recognize individuals doing extraordinary work on their campuses. Since then, more than 30,000 recipients have been honored with the award by their colleges.

Previous articleCommittee to consider agreement for landfill cell construction
Next articleCounty approves sale of downtown office space