Home News Local News Roswell native named NMDOT District Two engineer

Roswell native named NMDOT District Two engineer


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Roswell native and professional engineer Francisco Sanchez has been selected as the new District Two engineer, New Mexico Department of Transportation officials announced Thursday.

Sanchez was the assistant district engineer overseeing highway maintenance and project design in southeastern New Mexico. In his new role as district engineer, he will oversee all district operations, construction and maintenance.

“Francisco is a valuable addition to the department’s leadership,” said Michael Sandoval, Transportation Secretary. “He sets a professional standard for not only the district but the entire department and brings a wealth of experience which will serve southeast New Mexico and NMDOT well.”

Sanchez graduated from New Mexico State University with a bachelor’s in civil engineering in 1999. He has more than 20 years of experience working for the U.S Army Corps of Engineers, City of Roswell, and New Mexico Department of Transportation District Two. He began his NMDOT career seven years ago, gaining experience in all aspects of district operations.

“I love this community and am grateful for the opportunity to lead the district,” Sanchez said. “This is an exciting time to work in transportation. We have a lot of projects in the area that will bolster infrastructure while improving safety and the quality of life for southeast New Mexicans.”

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

Francisco has a history of civil service. Before COVID-19, he volunteered as a youth basketball coach with the city basketball league as well as the local middle schools and high school. He is also an active member of several professional and civic organizations. Francisco and his wife, Sonia, have a 13-year-old son.

NMDOT District Two plans, designs, builds, operates and maintains the state transportation system in the following counties: Chaves, Curry, Eddy, De Baca, Lea, Lincoln, Otero, Roosevelt, and parts of Guadalupe and Torrance.

Previous articleArea public schools observe Spring Break
Next articleReview of oil and gas activities subject of online forum