Home News Local News Nominations open for local leadership awards

Nominations open for local leadership awards


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Perhaps you know of someone in Roswell or Chaves County who deserves some extra recognition for the good he or she does for the community.

The Leadership Roswell Alumni Association has been recognizing outstanding community members for more than 20 years with its annual leadership awards. About 70 past recipients include elected officials, educators, nonprofit leaders, judges and legal professionals, and business owners and executives.

The group is now accepting nominations for the 2021 awards, according to Elaine Mayfield, a member of Leadership Roswell Alumni Association and its nominating committee.

Nominations will be accepted until April 29. Nomination forms, a description of the four awards and a list of past recipients are available on the group’s social media page, www.facebook.com/RoswellLeads. The information also can be obtained by emailing Mayfield at condor@dfn.com or texting her at 575-626-2640.

Mayfield said that selected honorees will be recognized on social media and in the news media again this year, which she said is a benefit especially to those who are a “little bit shy about a banquet in their honor.” But the group also hopes the public health situation will allow them to hold some type of recognition event, which was not possible in 2020 due to the coronavirus crisis.

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

“We have to follow whatever the state restrictions are,” she said. “A lot of members feel that it is so much nicer to be able to have everybody together.”

She said the public can nominate candidates for three of the four awards. Nominations for the fourth award, the Leadership Roswell Alumni Award, are generally accepted only from past graduates of the local leadership program to recognize “one of our own,” as Mayfield puts it.

The four awards include the Lifetime Achievement Award for a person 70 or older with a history of contributing to Chaves County’s improvement and serving as a leader in his or her profession; the Outstanding Leader Award for a role model in the community who has acted as a supportive and motivational employer and has a history of contributing to Chaves County’s improvement; the Award for Commitment to Youth to recognize a person for his or her work with younger people and who is respected in the community and recognized for high moral standards; and the Leadership Roswell Alumni Award for a program graduate who has shown outstanding leadership qualities and has supported the community, the Leadership Roswell program and the Leadership Roswell Alumni Association.

Mayfield said honorees can receive each award only once, so she encourages nominators to review the list of past recipients to avoid suggesting a candidate for an award that he or she already has won.

The nomination form asks for contact information for the nominator and a brief biography of the nominee and description of why he or she meets the award criteria.

Completed nominations can be emailed to Mayfield (condor@dfn.com) or mailed to the Leadership Roswell Alumni Association in care of the Historical Society for Southeast New Mexico, 200 N. Lea Ave., Roswell, 88202.

Previous articleGateway Christian surprises Melrose, but loses title
Next articleWebsite launched to address COVID-19 questions