Home News Local News New RISD board members to be sworn in

New RISD board members to be sworn in


Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Two new members of the Roswell Board of Education will be sworn in during a special meeting prior to the regular board meeting Tuesday night.

Jack Cheney and Ryan French will take the oath of office at a special meeting called for 5:30 p.m. in the board room of the Administrative and Educational Services Complex, 300 N. Kentucky Ave.

The regular meeting will follow at 6 p.m. Masks and social distancing are encouraged. Both meetings will be livestreamed on the district’s YouTube channel.

During the regular meeting, the board will discuss and possibly vote on reorganizing its officers. Hope Morales has served as president of the board since July, with James Edwards as vice president and Hilda Sanchez as board secretary. The board will also discuss and possibly vote on committee assignments for members.

Also on the agenda for the regular meeting are recognition of the Roswell High School students who won at the Governor’s STEM Challenge in December, Lynn Suggs for years of service and the Goddard High School cross country team for winning the district championship.

Support Local Journalism
Subscribe to the Roswell Daily Record today.

Greg Torres, principal at Monterrey Elementary School, will give a presentation on the school’s annual 90-day plan to increase student achievement.

Votes are scheduled to formally accept a $1,000 donation from the Los Alamos National Laboratory Foundation for Goddard High School students to prepare for and attend the Governor’s STEM challenge, a professional development service for teachers with English language learning students, and the district’s statement of unusable equipment.

Superintendent Brian Luck will give reports on the process for SAT tests and on redistricting school board boundaries.

An executive session is scheduled to discuss and give feedback on the quarterly superintendent evaluation.

City/RISD reporter Juno Ogle can be reached at 575-622-7710, ext. 205, or reporter04@rdrnews.com.

Previous articleWard 2 candidate Halvorson plans to build on relationships
Next articleCommissioners to consider legislative requests